PRESS RELEASE

Date: 16th June 2005

Parliamentarians vowed to promote human rights

culture in the country

Islamabad. The 11th Executive Council Meeting of Parliamentarians Commission for Human Rights held in Committee Room No. 2 at National Assembly, Islamabad. Chairman PCHR Mr. Riaz Fatyana, MNA presided over the meeting. The meeting was attended by Dr. G.G. Jamal, Federal Minister for Tourism, Senator Dr. Shehzad Waseem, Minister of State for Interior, Ms. Kashmala Tariq MNA, Javed Ali Shah MNA, Ms. Fauzia Wahab MNA, Gul-e-Farkhunda MNA, Senator Dr. Kauser Ferdous, Sayyeda Farhana Khalid Banori MNA, Rao M.Ajmal Khan MNA, Dr. S. Javed Hussain MNA, Rai Aziz-u-lah Khan MNA, Eng. Gyan Chand Singh MNA, Maulana Rehmet-u-Llah MNA, Sardar Bhadur Khan Sihr MNA, Ms. Mehnaz Rafi MNA Ms. Riffat Javed Khalon MNA, Begum Afsar Jehan MNA, Shamim Akhter MNA, Akhtar Khan Kanju MNA, Malik Zaheer Abas Khokhar and Muhammed Faiz Tamman MNA.

The participants discussed overall human rights situation in the country and lauded the role of PCHR in promoting the human rights culture in the society. Dr. G.G. Jamal Federal Minister for Tourism and Secretary General PCHR said that parliamentarians, being the legislators and policy formulators, have key role to play for protecting human rights in the country. Minister of State for Interior Senator Dr. Shehzad Waseem remarked that due to crimes like gang-rapes, honor killings and acid burning, coherent and united efforts are dire need of the time to protect human rights in the country. Secretary General PCHR Dr. G.G.Jamal, Federal Minister for Tourism presented the annual progress report of PCHR and highlighted the salient features of the bills introduced by PCHR in the Parliament like Senior Citizens Bill, Human Organ Transplant Bill, Honor Killings Amendment Bill, Hudood Ordinance, Foreigners Act 1946, and West Pakistan Family Court Bill. He briefed the participants about the bills to be submitted in the forthcoming session of National Assembly, which include Gender Justice Bill, Curtailment of Police Torture Bill, and Industrial Relations Bill.

The 11th Executive Council Meeting on the suggestion of Syed Javed Ali Shah MNA, Parliamentary Secretary for Industries and Production, Eng. Gyan Chand Singh MNA, Fareed Ahmed Paracha MNA and Mehnaz Rafi MNA, took various decisions to enhance the efficiency of the Commission. It decided to form various committees of which one is Legislative and Legal Reform Committee comprising of following members:

Ms. Gul-e-Farkhanda, Ms. Fouzia Wahhab, Ms. Mehnaz Rafi, Ms. Farhana Banori, Dr. Javed Hussian, Mr. Akhtar Khan Kanju and Maulana Rehmut Ullah Khalil.

The Council suggested formation of Editorial Committee comprising of following members:

Malik Zaheer Abass Khokar MNA, Dr. Ferdous Kausar MNA, Fauzia Wahab MNA, and Gul-e-Ferkhunda MNA.

The Council also decided to include new members in PCHR named Majeed Pirzada MNA, Syed Naveed Qamar MNA, Bukhtiar Mani MNA, Begum Ishrat Ashraf MNA, Afsar Jehan Begum MNA, Shamim Begum MNA, Farooq Amjed Mir MNA, Ejaz Jhakhrani MNA and Asad-ullah Bhutto MNA Ms. Riffat Javed Khalon MNA, member PCHR and Parliamentary Secretary as well, was elected new treasurer of PCHR.

In the end, all the participants in the meeting unanimously agreed that collective efforts are needed by the Parliamentarians to extirpate the root causes of human rights crimes from the society, and they vowed to support PCHR in promoting and strengthening political institutions and the cause of human rights in the country.

Following numbers will be reachable round the clock for any information or help: 0300-8555570

Media Cell PCHR